I’m not really sure where I should begin with this, so I guess I’ll just start from the beginning. I want to give you the back story so that you can better understand the relationship. I’ll try to make this as short as possible, but I have a lot to say about this….a lot of history.

‘Kayla’ and I met when we were 10 or 11 years old. I was new to town and she was the first person I met. It felt as if we knew one another from toddler age. We instantly became best friends. We were like sisters. She was at my house every day after school until it was time for her to go home. She stayed over on weekends; we were so close that neither of us ever had to ask permission for her to be there. She was ALWAYS at my house. Everyone knew that we were inseparable. We even dressed alike sometimes.

We had our arguments throughout the years, never anything that couldn’t be talked about and put behind us. When we turned 18 things started to change. She had moved to Trenton and I had a car. She met ‘Khloe’ who was 17 and lived a few doors down from her. They immediately became friends. Days later, I was introduced to Khloe and we all became best friends. Khole was cool, I liked her. She was quiet, wasn’t into any drama and enjoyed doing the same things as Kayla and I. All the years we had been friends, we never let anyone else in. It was just us. We both adored Khloe and she adored us; she fit right in.

About 6 months into our newfound friendship with Khloe, Kayla had met a new boy toy. She was into him and he was into her. One day, we were hanging out at Kayla’s house when her boy toy called. He wanted her to come hang with him for a few. I didn’t mind, I knew all her family so it was cool to be at her house for a few. She told me she would be back in an hour. 2 hours go by and she’s not back yet. I’m calling her cell phone and she isn’t answering, it keeps going to voicemail. I call his cell phone and it also goes to voicemail. I’m steaming mad; why aren’t they answering the phone?!

I decide to walk down to Khloe’s house and hang with her and vent. In the process of explaining to her what just happened, she informs me that Kayla said I would always leave her alone for hours at a time while I went and hung out with guys. She also said that I left her places many times. All this is a shock to me because I had never done any of those things. In fact, it was just the opposite. Kayla had done that to me numerous times in the past. Thank goodness I had my own damn car. If not, I would have been stranded many times! Now I feel hurt and confused. How could my best friend tell those lies about me? Why is she saying these things about me? Is she my friend or my foe?

