Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


“You’re pretty for a dark-skinned girl”

 

Someone please explain to me what that means!! I’m sure he thought he was giving a compliment, but I just don’t see it that way! It’s kind of offensive.  If she’s pretty, why not say exactly that. Why include ‘for a dark-skinned girl’? Should I be ugly because I’m not light-skinned? LOL I just don’t get it….I never did. The whole light-skinned/dark-skinned thing just doesn’t make sense. Complexion shouldn’t matter if they are a good person and you like them. I guess I want to know if the same man who says ‘you’re pretty for a dark-skinned girl’ also rejecting women simply because she’s dark-skinned? In my experiences as a dark-skinned woman, I’ve run into many men who chose the light-skinned chick over me. It was never because she looked better than me, it was always because she was lighter. Does being light make you a better woman? Hell no! So, why do men behave in such a way? Accept me for the BEAUTIFUL dark-skinned woman I am and embrace me. Enjoy me, absorb me, feel me and get to know me and you will see, I’m really no different from her. We’re all beautiful women who would be your queen regardless of complexion.Woman is woman!

  

Just like the video says, skin color does play a big role in society. Does skin color decide what is beautiful and what isn’t? Maybe it does…I don’t know, but I strongly disagree with the statement that light-skinned women are more beautiful. A dark-skinned woman is just as beautiful as a light-skinned woman! What are you opinions on this?

